Price, service and accreditation information rechecked September 26, 2026. All figures are advertised U.S.-dollar retail prices before shipping and taxes. “Janoshik” is sometimes misheard as “JanaCheck”; “ILS Laboratories” may be shortened to “ILS”; and the laboratory is “Chromate,” not “ChromeAid.”
Peptide testing lab prices at a glance
The lowest posted price depends on both the compound and the question being asked. Chromate is cheapest for several common single-peptide HPLC tests. ILS Laboratories has the lowest flat-price identity, purity and quantity panel and the lowest advertised multi-category bundle. Freedom Diagnostics lists a $225 purity/identity-plus-quantity combination. Vanguard Laboratory publishes the clearest tiered U.S. packages. Janoshik has the broadest compound-specific menu of the five and offers a blind GLP-1 test that does not require the submitter to identify semaglutide, tirzepatide or retatrutide in advance.
Those descriptions are not interchangeable. ILS’s $200 identity check is HPLC retention-time matching. Janoshik’s $360 GLP-1 product is explicitly blind among three named peptides. Vanguard includes solubility in its $250 Silver tier but does not state the identity instrument on its price page. Chromate says its peptide tests are qualitative and quantitative HPLC unless otherwise specified. Freedom’s form says HPLC “and/or” mass spectrometry, while its homepage says every COA includes HPLC purity and LC-MS identity. That conflict should be resolved in writing for the exact order.
| Advertised test, USD | Janoshik | ILS | Vanguard | Chromate | Freedom |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BPC-157: identity/purity/quantity base test | $215 | $200 | $250 | $180 | $225 |
| Retatrutide or common GLP-1 base test | $360 blind GLP-1 | $200 | $250 | $300 | $225 |
| GHK-Cu base test | $290 | $200 | $250 | $240 | $225 |
| MOTS-c base test | $450 | $200 | $250 | $380 | $225 |
| HGH including dimer analysis | $500 | Not publicly itemized | Not publicly itemized | $420 | Confirm scope; not itemized separately |
| Endotoxin add-on or standalone | $180 | Included in $600 Full QC; à-la-carte price not posted | $210 | $240 | $175 |
| Microbial or “sterility” test | $290 TAMC/TYMC | Included rapid DNA microarray screen; à-la-carte price not posted | $100 “bioburden” using USP <61> microbial enumeration or $150 USP <71> sterility | $240 USP <71> | $150 PCR-based screening |
| Heavy metals | $105 peptide-order add-on; $145 standalone | Included in $600 Full QC; à-la-carte price not posted | $150 | No public price located | No public price located |
| Additional same-batch vial | $75 variance test | $50 conformity sample | $100 flat for 1–3 additional vials | $50 | $50 |
The bold number is the lowest advertised price in that row, not a quality ranking. “Base test” means the closest publicly advertised identity, purity and quantity service we found. ILS and Freedom use flat panel pricing where the laboratory accepts the compound; acceptance and exact scope still require confirmation. The methods, report detail and sample requirements differ.
Two normalized shopping baskets expose the differences
A base price comparison is useful when the only question is whether one vial matches the expected peptide and labeled amount. A broader quality-control comparison must also account for microbial testing, endotoxin, elemental contamination and the extra vials consumed.
| Scenario, USD | Janoshik | ILS | Vanguard | Chromate | Freedom |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BPC-157 base test | $215 | $200 | $250 | $180 | $225 |
| BPC-157 + endotoxin + published microbial test + heavy metals | $790 | $600 | $760 | Not comparable; $660 without a posted metals test | Not comparable; $550 without a posted metals test |
| Retatrutide/GLP-1 base test | $360 | $200 | $250 | $300 | $225 |
| Retatrutide/GLP-1 + endotoxin + published microbial test + heavy metals | $935 | $600 | $760 | Not comparable; $780 without a posted metals test | Not comparable; $550 without a posted metals test |
The arithmetic is reproducible: Janoshik BPC-157 is $215 + $180 endotoxin + $290 TAMC/TYMC + $105 metals = $790. Its GLP-1 version starts at $360, producing $935. Vanguard’s category-matched basket is $250 Silver + $210 endotoxin + $150 USP <71> sterility + $150 metals = $760. Its richer $850 Elite-plus-sterility package also includes USP <61> enumeration, fentanyl screening and seal-integrity testing. Chromate’s BPC-157, endotoxin and USP <71> prices total $660; its GLP-1 equivalent totals $780, but we did not find a public heavy-metals price. Freedom’s $225 base, $175 endotoxin and $150 PCR screen total $550, also without a posted metals test. ILS sells the listed categories as one $600 bundle.
These totals remain methodologically unequal. ILS substitutes a rapid DNA microarray microbial screen for traditional incubation. Freedom uses PCR screening. Janoshik describes TAMC/TYMC testing, while Vanguard separates the USP <61> microbial-enumeration service it markets as “bioburden” from USP <71> sterility. Chromate expressly labels its test USP <71>. A shopper who compares only the total will miss the most important distinction in the basket.
Strengths and weaknesses: where each laboratory is genuinely differentiated
None of the five laboratories dominates every measurable category. The useful comparison is not “best laboratory” in the abstract, but which laboratory makes the strongest public case for the specific question being submitted.
| Laboratory | Evidence-backed strengths | Weaknesses and unresolved questions | Best-matched testing question from the public menu |
|---|---|---|---|
| Janoshik | Broadest compound-specific and add-on menu; explicit blind three-way GLP-1 identification; searchable report verification; detailed sample requirements; average turnaround posted for common assays | No current public ISO/IEC 17025 scope located; relatively expensive for several compounds and broad baskets; a broad panel can consume at least five vials; TAMC/TYMC is not presented as USP <71>; a Janoshik-branded account said measurement uncertainty is not routinely put on client reports | “Is this undisclosed vial semaglutide, tirzepatide or retatrutide, and how much is present?” or a less-common assay that competitors do not itemize |
| ILS | Lowest flat $200 panel; lowest advertised four-category $600 bundle; approximately one-week service; published rush and volume discounts; LC-MS available by custom quote | Standard identity is HPLC retention-time matching; LC-MS price is not public; rapid DNA microbial screening is not the same procedure as USP <71>; peptide assays are not expressly named in the located ISO scope and the scope’s flexibility makes exact coverage a question for ILS or PJLA; several add-ons lack à-la-carte prices | “What is the lowest predictable price for identity, purity and amount?” or “What can a high-volume group buy under one standardized panel?” |
| Vanguard | Clearest preconfigured U.S. packages; clearly separates the USP <61> enumeration product it calls bioburden from USP <71> sterility and USP <85> endotoxin; vial counts, timing and a 10%-at-10-samples discount are posted; active A2LA record; stated policy against reporting purity above 99.8% | Identity instrument is not stated on the price page; core peptide HPLC is not expressly named in the public accreditation scope; USP <71> costs extra; the richer Elite-plus-sterility package consumes five vials and costs more than ILS Full QC | “What does a clearly scoped U.S. package with traditional USP <71> sterility cost?” |
| Chromate | Lowest posted price for several common peptide HPLC tests; low compound-specific pricing; USP <71> and endotoxin are separately available; report verification; low HGH-plus-dimer price | No current accreditation record located; no public metals price or fixed turnaround; public institutional details are sparse; the archived Epitalon method dispute did not end in a completed blind same-material comparison | “What is the lowest posted price for this named peptide?” or “Can I add a separately priced USP <71> test?” |
| Freedom Diagnostics | Flat $225 purity/identity-plus-quantity combination; low $175 endotoxin price; fast advertised turnaround; large public report footprint; LC-MS identity appears on reviewed current reports | Intake form says HPLC “and/or” mass spectrometry while the homepage describes HPLC plus LC-MS; PCR screening is not USP <71>; no public metals price or located peptide-specific accreditation scope; highly concentrated seller-commissioned report stream creates selection questions | “What does a fast U.S. base test with a public verification trail cost?” |
“Best-matched” describes the public offer, not analytical superiority. A laboratory can publish the clearest package and still return an incorrect result; another can publish sparse institutional information and still measure a particular sample correctly. Only a controlled comparison against characterized material can test accuracy.
Do domestic peptide sellers prefer U.S. laboratories?
They are more concentrated in U.S. laboratories in TitrateLab’s reviewed public-report sample, but the data do not support a simple domestic-versus-international divide. They also do not show favoritism by a laboratory.
TitrateLab has manually reviewed the seller-layer status of 132 out of 3,949 linked vendor identities. The 102 profiles classified as U.S.-operated or U.S.-facing sellers had 16,058 deduplicated public reports with a known laboratory. Ten source-checked U.S. laboratories produced 13,968 of those reports, or 87.0%: Freedom, ILS, Vanguard, Chromate, Krause Analytical, BTLabs, MZ Biolabs, TrustPointe, Ichor Life Sciences and PharmLabs. Janoshik produced 1,782, or 11.1%.
The 30 reviewed identities outside that category are a useful comparison, but not a pure international-vendor sample: the field also excludes reviewed OEM and pharmacy exceptions. The comparison was almost evenly divided. Janoshik produced 3,775 of 7,656 reports, or 49.3%, while the ten verified U.S. labs produced 3,772, also 49.3% after rounding.
| Public COA representation | U.S. seller cohort | Reviewed comparison group |
|---|---|---|
| Reviewed identities | 102 | 30 |
| Deduplicated reports, all dates | 16,058 | 7,656 |
| Ten verified U.S. labs | 87.0% | 49.3% |
| Janoshik | 11.1% | 49.3% |
| Other or unresolved laboratory | 1.9% | 1.4% |
| Trailing-year share from the ten U.S. labs | 92.8% | 56.9% |
| Trailing-year share from Janoshik | 5.3% | 42.3% |
The Finnrick source originally stored several laboratories under letter labels. We reopened a current certificate URL for each label and read the laboratory name that Finnrick now embeds in the record: Chromate, MZ Biolabs, TrustPointe, Janoshik, Krause Analytical, Freedom, BTLabs, Ichor Life Sciences and PharmLabs. This correction matters: treating every letter label as an anonymous laboratory falsely made the comparison group look almost entirely non-U.S.
The captured time series also argues against calling this a domestic-only shift. The U.S.-lab share among reviewed U.S. sellers rose from 39.7% in 2024 to 85.4% in 2025 and 93.4% in 2026 through September 18. In the comparison group, it rose from 11.4% to 47.4% to 59.4%. That could reflect vendor behavior, but it also overlaps with expanding cohort coverage, Finnrick’s partner routing and TitrateLab’s addition of large direct archives—especially Freedom’s portal. It is a trend in the captured sources, not proof of market migration.
One high-volume Freedom feed could otherwise dominate the result. A vendor-balanced check therefore gave each profile equal weight and limited the denominator to Janoshik plus the ten verified U.S. labs. Across 102 U.S. sellers, the average U.S.-lab share was 89.2%; across all 30 comparison identities, it was 59.8%. The respective medians were 100% and 65.7%. Seventy-one U.S. sellers appeared only with the U.S. labs, one only with Janoshik and 30 with both; four comparison identities appeared only with U.S. labs and 26 with both.
The defensible conclusion is narrower than “domestic vendors use cheap labs.” U.S. sellers were more concentrated in U.S. laboratories, but U.S. laboratories were also heavily used by the comparison group and supplied a majority of its trailing-year reports. The certificates cannot reveal whether the cause was price, shipping, turnaround, portal convenience, existing relationships, sample anonymization or unlisted volume terms. Nor can they show that a laboratory gives domestic clients easier results. Posted base prices overlap: $180 at Chromate, $200 at ILS, $215 for Janoshik BPC-157, $225 at Freedom and $250 at Vanguard. Janoshik’s $360 blind GLP-1 test costs more because it answers a stronger identity question.
The missingness belongs in the headline. Only 3.3% of linked vendor identities have a reviewed cohort status. Those identities account for 22.5% of the public rows, while 69.2% are linked to vendors whose cohort remains unreviewed and 8.3% lack a linked vendor. The corpus also mirrors its source pipelines: 99.5% of mapped Freedom rows came from Freedom’s direct feed, 72.5% of Chromate rows from Chromate’s archive and 84.3% of Janoshik rows from Janoshik’s archive. Freedom’s feed alone supplied 70.6% of the reviewed U.S.-seller cohort. This is a directional finding, not a market-share census.
Seven facts that change the apparent price ranking
- ILS’s published 50-sample discount reduces the nominal $200 panel to $160 and Full QC from $600 to $480 per sample. That matters to testing groups, but not to a person submitting one vial.
- A comprehensive order can consume five unopened vials. The sacrificed-product value and shipping can exceed the difference between two laboratories’ sticker prices.
- The $600 ILS bundle and $760 Vanguard category basket do not contain the same microbiology test. ILS uses a rapid DNA screen; Vanguard’s comparison includes traditional USP <71> incubation.
- An ISO/IEC 17025 certificate is not a laboratory-wide endorsement. The two current scopes located for ILS and Vanguard do not expressly name the core peptide HPLC identity, purity and quantity panel. ILS’s flexible-scope codes mean the omission alone is not enough to classify every peptide assay as outside scope.
- A reported 99.8% and 99.98% may reflect reporting policy as well as chemistry. Vanguard says it caps displayed purity at 99.8% to avoid false precision.
- A blind test can answer a stronger identity question than a label-informed retention-time match. Janoshik’s GLP-1 product is blind among three named candidates; that is still narrower than identifying an entirely unknown compound.
- A public COA gallery cannot by itself produce a valid failure rate. The reader needs the total number of initial submissions, failures, retests and unpublished results—not just the certificates selected for publication.
What each laboratory actually sells
Janoshik: the broadest menu and an explicit blind GLP-1 option
Janoshik is a Czech analytical laboratory led publicly by owner and CEO Peter Magic. Its site says it has more than ten years of experience testing performance-enhancing drugs and related compounds. It accepts samples worldwide and maintains searchable public reports as well as individual report verification. Those are company statements and operating features, not independent proof that every result is correct.
The current peptide menu spans inexpensive common peptides through costly blends and less common compounds:
- BPC-157, ipamorelin, CJC-1295 no DAC, TB-500 and melanotan-2: $215.
- GHK-Cu, tesamorelin, epitalon, semax, selank and thymosin alpha-1: $290.
- Common semaglutide, tirzepatide and retatrutide blind test: $360.
- MOTS-c, KPV, cagrilintide and several less-common peptides: $450.
- HGH amount, purity, dimer and higher-molecular-weight proteins: $500.
- GLOW blend: $500; KLOW blend: $800.
The BPC-157 product page describes HPLC identity, amount and peptide purity from one unopened vial, with an average seven-business-day turnaround. The GLP-1 test is blind among semaglutide, tirzepatide and retatrutide and uses HPLC. That is more informative than a retention-time comparison performed after the laboratory is told exactly what to expect, but it is not de novo sequencing of an entirely unknown compound.
Janoshik also publishes the most extensive à-la-carte menu in this group: $180 endotoxin, $290 TAMC/TYMC microbial testing, a $105 metals add-on to a peptide order ($145 as a standalone screen), $205 LC-MS peptide-contamination screening, $205 GC-MS/LC-MS contamination screening, a $145 CHNS add-on ($215 standalone), $290 TFA, $150 GLP-1 aggregate analysis, $75 fentanyl screening, $75 variance testing and $25 raw data. Some options require separate material. The site says sterility needs two unopened peptide vials, endotoxin one vial with two recommended, metals another vial and the base analysis one vial. A broad panel can therefore consume at least five vials before shipping.
We did not locate a current public ISO/IEC 17025 scope on Janoshik’s site or an accreditation claim on the pages reviewed. That is not proof of poor analysis; it means the laboratory’s peptide-specific track record and inspectable reports carry more of the evidentiary burden than an accreditation certificate.
ILS Laboratories: the cheapest flat panel and strongest volume pricing
We found no public evidence that ILS is part of Freedom Diagnostics. ILS’s own terms say ILS Labs Inc. performs the analytical testing while ILS Analytical LLC runs the platform, client services and billing. That establishes the entities ILS publicly identifies; it does not prove that no undisclosed commercial relationship exists.
ILS advertises two standardized choices:
- $200 HPLC Panel: retention-time identity, purity and quantity.
- $600 Full QC: the HPLC panel plus USP <85> kinetic chromogenic LAL endotoxin, ICP-MS metals and a rapid DNA-microarray microbial screen.
The advertised turnaround is approximately one week. A $150 rush option targets three business days after receipt. ILS recommends three vials when the combined sample contains at least 10 mg and four vials below 10 mg. Its published order-level discounts are 5% for 15–29 samples, 10% for 30–49 and 20% at 50 or more; existing-client pricing may differ. At the largest published tier, the nominal $200 HPLC panel becomes $160 and the $600 bundle becomes $480 before any negotiated client pricing.
ILS’s price advantage comes with two questions a buyer should resolve before ordering. First, the $200 panel uses retention-time identity. LC-MS identity is described as a custom add-on, but no public price is shown. Second, “rapid sterility screen” is ILS’s name for DNA-based microbial detection. The site itself contrasts that process with traditional 14-day incubation. It should not be represented as a USP <71> sterility test without documentation from the laboratory.
A PJLA-issued ISO/IEC 17025:2017 certificate copy identifies ILS Labs Inc. dba Quality Cannabis Laboratories. The attached eight-page scope names cannabis and hemp matrices for cannabinoids, pesticides, solvents, metals, terpenes and microbial screening; it does not expressly name peptide identity, purity, quantity, endotoxin or sterility. The scope also carries PJLA flexible-scope codes. Under PJLA’s published explanation, those codes can permit specified additions or modifications after laboratory validation. The PDF’s silence on peptides therefore does not, by itself, prove that every peptide assay is outside the accreditation. The defensible description is: “an ISO-accredited laboratory offering peptide testing; confirm with ILS or PJLA whether the exact method and matrix on your order are within scope.”
Vanguard: the clearest bundles, but count the optional sterility vial
Vanguard is Olympic Analytical LLC doing business as Vanguard Laboratory in Olympia, Washington. Its published tiers make it relatively easy to see what an order buys:
- Silver, $250, one vial: purity, quantity, identity and solubility.
- Gold, $550, three vials: Silver plus USP <85> endotoxin, USP <61> microbial enumeration marketed as “bioburden,” fentanyl screening and vial-seal integrity.
- Elite, $700, four vials: Gold plus ICP-MS heavy metals.
- USP <71> sterility, $150 and one additional vial: optional at every level, with a minimum 14-day test period.
Vanguard also lists $200 raw-powder purity, $210 endotoxin, $100 for the USP <61> enumeration it calls bioburden, $150 metals, $150 residual solvents, $50 TFA, $50 fentanyl and a $100 flat conformity fee covering one to three additional vials. The price page says methods and timing are confirmed at intake; metals and endotoxin usually take three to five days, while sterility takes at least 14 days.
The site says its HPLC methods are validated to USP <1225>, but it does not identify the identity instrument on the price page. A submitter who specifically needs LC-MS identity should obtain written confirmation rather than infer it from the word “identity.”
The official A2LA registry confirms Vanguard’s current ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation: certificate 6377.01 runs through September 30, 2027. The actual scope lists defined biological tests plus chemical trace-element and residual-solvent work across named matrices. It does not expressly list peptide HPLC identity, purity or quantity. Some ancillary work may fit listed scope entries and matrices; the core peptide HPLC panel is not expressly there.
Chromate: low compound-specific prices and the least public institutional detail
Chromate publishes a compound-by-compound U.S. price list. BPC-157, CJC-1295, ipamorelin, PT-141 and TB-500 are $180. GHK-Cu, epitalon, semax, selank and tesamorelin are $240. Common GLP-1 peptides are $300. MOTS-c and KPV are $380. HGH is $300 without dimer reporting or $420 with dimer.
Chromate’s site says all listed tests are qualitative and quantitative HPLC unless otherwise specified. It charges $240 for kinetic chromogenic LAL endotoxin, $240 for membrane-filtration and incubation testing described as USP <71>, and $50 for each additional peptide vial. It provides a report-verification portal. We found no current fixed turnaround, public metals price, named accrediting body or accreditation number on the official pages reviewed.
The contact page identifies Hudson, New Hampshire, but does not publish a street address or phone number. The absence of an accreditation claim is not itself evidence that Chromate’s measurements are wrong. It does mean that method documentation, reference materials, raw data, report verification and reproducibility deserve extra weight when evaluating a Chromate result.
Freedom Diagnostics: the largest U.S.-seller footprint in TitrateLab’s public record
Freedom’s current intake form lists $200 for purity and identification, with net peptide content available as a $25 bundled addition. Endotoxin is $175, PCR-based microbial screening is $150, fentanyl screening is $40 and each added conformity vial is $50. The form describes identity as HPLC “and/or” mass spectrometry. Freedom’s homepage makes the stronger statement that every COA includes HPLC purity and LC-MS identity, and a current example certificate reviewed for this article shows both HPLC-UV and LC-MS. A client should still have the exact included identity method written on the order.
The stated one-to-three-business-day turnaround is a practical advantage for U.S. sellers. Freedom also exposes an unusually large public certificate library. After the article’s source exclusions, historical Finnrick-label mapping and test-ID deduplication, TitrateLab’s preserved September 19 analysis contains 67,343 public Freedom reports, more than any other laboratory in the database. That is a collection fact, not the laboratory’s total lifetime output or a performance score. The portal is a major TitrateLab source and seller-selected certificates dominate the visible stream.
That concentration is why Freedom belongs in the price comparison but cannot be ranked by its attractive public averages. The laboratory tested only one failure among 122 customer-sent Finnrick vials in a historical May-to-September 2025 slice, while other Finnrick partner labs saw different products and periods. The difference could reflect methods, sample mix, timing or routing. It is not a controlled proficiency comparison.
Accreditation: inspect the scope, not the logo
ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation applies to defined tests, methods, matrices and locations. It is not a blanket approval of everything a laboratory offers.
| Laboratory | Current public accreditation record located? | Does the located scope expressly list peptide HPLC identity/purity/quantity? | What the public record supports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Janoshik | No scope or claim located on reviewed official pages | Not established | Long peptide-specific operating history and verifiable reports, but no accreditation conclusion from the reviewed record |
| ILS | PJLA-issued certificate copy located: no. 112120 / certificate L25-631, expires Aug. 31, 2027 | No | Public scope names cannabis/hemp activities and carries flexible-scope codes; exact peptide-method and matrix coverage requires confirmation |
| Vanguard | Yes, A2LA no. 6377.01, expires Sep. 30, 2027 | No | Accredited defined biological, metals and solvent activities; peptide HPLC is not expressly in the public scope |
| Chromate | No claim, body, number or scope located on reviewed official pages | Not established | Public prices and report verification, without a located accreditation record |
| Freedom Diagnostics | No peptide-specific accreditation body, number or scope located on reviewed official pages | Not established | Large verifiable report stream and published methods, without a located accreditation scope for the peptide assays |
This distinction matters because both ILS and Vanguard accurately note that accreditation applies only within scope. A vendor or commentator who shortens that to “the peptide assay is ISO-accredited” may be making a stronger claim than the certificate supports. For ILS, it would also be too strong to infer from the public PDF alone that every peptide assay is outside scope; the flexible-scope status makes method-specific confirmation necessary.
Endotoxin, bioburden and sterility are three different questions
The five price lists use overlapping language for different analyses:
- Endotoxin measures bacterial lipopolysaccharide. It can remain after bacteria are no longer viable. ILS and Vanguard cite USP <85>; Janoshik and Chromate describe LAL methods.
- USP <61> microbial enumeration counts specified populations in nonsterile products. Vanguard markets its included Gold/Elite USP <61> service as “bioburden” and explicitly says it is not sterility. USP itself warns that automatically treating <61> as a generic bioburden method can be erroneous; the precise point for buyers is that <61> enumeration is not <71> sterility.
- Traditional USP <71> sterility testing attempts to detect viable organisms after incubation. Vanguard and Chromate expressly cite USP <71> and a 14-day or incubation-based process.
- Rapid microbial screening can use molecular detection rather than traditional incubation. ILS uses a DNA microarray and reports in days.
- PCR-based microbial screening looks for microbial genetic material. Freedom offers this as “sterility screening,” but its intake form does not present the service as USP <71>.
- Janoshik’s “sterility” add-on is described on its product pages as TAMC/TYMC for bacteria and molds with an average 14-day turnaround, not as USP <71>.
A lower total can reflect a different test rather than the same test performed more efficiently. Before comparing pass/fail thresholds, also check whether the certificate reports endotoxin per vial, per milligram or per milliliter. Converting between those units requires reliable quantity and reconstitution information.
How much useful information came from the K-Hole lab chat?
TitrateLab reviewed 6,270 messages from the K Hole Reloaded laboratory topic, spanning August 25, 2025 through August 11, 2026, plus a smaller follow-up capture through September 6. Eight lab-branded or publicly attributable accounts produced 3,117 of the primary archive’s messages: Pacific Coast Biologics 1,537, Janoshik 974, Vanguard 460, BTLabs 86, Chromate 50 and ten messages across three smaller laboratory accounts.
The archive was highly useful for identifying methods, operating policies, incentives and unresolved technical questions. It was not sufficient to rank analytical accuracy. The speakers are competitors, the conversation is adversarial, and the room’s loudest voices are not necessarily the most accurate.
| K-Hole evidence measure | Observed result | What it tells us |
|---|---|---|
| Messages in the frozen primary topic | 6,270 | A substantial longitudinal discussion, not a controlled study |
| Messages from eight attributable laboratory accounts | 3,117 of 6,270 (49.7%) | Nearly half the archive contains first-person laboratory participation |
| Messages from the three largest lab voices | 2,971 of 3,117 (95.3%) | The attributable record is highly concentrated; apparent consensus can reflect a few prolific speakers |
| Pacific Coast Biologics messages | 1,537 | 103 more than Janoshik and Vanguard combined; visibility did not equal validation |
| Direct Janoshik–Vanguard replies | 129 | The two accounts were socially aligned in the main dispute, so agreement between them was not fully independent |
| Completed blinded, homogeneous split-sample comparisons located | 0 | The archive cannot determine which laboratory is closest to a true value |
The evidence yield is therefore asymmetric. First-person statements about a laboratory’s own reporting policy or method are useful attributed disclosures. Technical arguments with chromatograms, reference standards or explicit experimental proposals are useful leads. Competitor insults, fraud allegations and claims about another laboratory’s accuracy remain low-grade evidence unless reproduced independently.
Is Janoshik really the “gold standard”?
The archive supports that phrase as a description of reputation, not as a scientific ranking. Ordinary users explicitly called Janoshik the market’s “gold standard,” described it as the gray market’s most popular laboratory and asked for alternatives “other than Jan.” Those statements document mindshare, not approval or accuracy, but the default-comparator pattern is clear.
Janoshik also has a long public operating history, the broadest retail menu in this comparison and 21,789 deduplicated public reports in TitrateLab’s preserved September 19 analysis, including historical Finnrick LabD records. Those facts help explain its status. They still do not prove that Janoshik is closest to the true value on every assay.
Vanguard is better described as a prominent U.S. technical voice than as a proven second-place laboratory. It published clear bundles, holds a current A2LA record and contributed 460 messages to the preserved topic. The reviewed record contains no blinded proficiency dataset that orders Vanguard, ILS, Freedom, Chromate, BTLabs or Krause by accuracy. A reputation ladder and an accuracy ladder are different products.
What the laboratory voices broadly agreed on
- One vial is not a batch. Vanguard described multi-vial and composite sampling, while other participants described observed vial-to-vial differences. A single passing vial does not establish that every vial in a kit is equivalent.
- A matching batch code is not a controlled interlaboratory comparison. The proposed experiment was one homogeneous sample divided into identical, blinded portions. Sending different vials bearing the same code leaves vial variation, handling and storage as confounders.
- Identity, purity and amount are separate measurements. A high chromatographic purity number can coexist with the wrong amount or wrong compound.
- Method detail matters more than an instrument acronym. Column chemistry, gradient, reference material, detector, integration settings, preparation and reporting convention can all change what a certificate shows.
- Published results are selected. Vanguard described how its customer mix affects visible averages, while Janoshik agreed that vendors with good purity tend to test more often; the discussion also acknowledged that bad results often remain unpublished. A gallery full of passes is not a measured failure rate.
The most useful disclosures were not marketing claims
- Vanguard described a deliberate false-precision limit. Its representative said the laboratory does not publish peptide purity above 99.8%, because extra decimal places would communicate more certainty than the validation supports.
- Janoshik acknowledged invisible uncertainty. A Janoshik-branded account said informally that uncertainty is generally omitted from routine client reports because displaying it generates large numbers of support questions. The remark may have been partly humorous, but it exposes a real difference between analytical uncertainty and client-facing presentation.
- The operators described reference-material disagreement. Commercial standards, in-house characterized standards, peptide salt forms and counterions can shift calculated amount even when each chromatogram is internally consistent.
- A proposed head-to-head failed at the sampling stage. Pacific Coast Biologics asked for the exact same material in a comparison with Freedom, but a different vial carrying the same batch description was submitted. That left vial variation inseparable from laboratory variation.
- The most constructive disagreement used specific evidence. In a dispute over whether a recurring contaminant was 3- or 4-hydroxyacetophenone, BTLabs and Vanguard discussed retention time, reference-standard spiking and spectral evidence instead of treating reputation as the answer. The identity remained unresolved in the snapshot, but the exchange demonstrated what a testable disagreement looks like.
What remained disputed
Janoshik and Vanguard challenged Chromate over Epitalon analysis. Chromate argued that HILIC was needed to retain the compound and separate related impurities; Janoshik and Vanguard said reverse-phase methods could work when properly developed. The exchange escalated into disputes about validation data, accreditation, location, AI-assisted argument and competence. No completed, blinded, same-material comparison appeared in the archived period, so the conversation does not establish a winner.
In the September follow-up capture, a Vanguard-branded account shared a self-reported endotoxin proficiency result and emphasized spike recovery and matrix interference. A Janoshik-branded account said it currently used LAL and was pursuing accreditation for a recombinant method. These are valuable operator disclosures, but TitrateLab did not independently authenticate the attached proficiency artifact or verify an expanded accreditation scope.
Read the related TitrateLab investigation, Why Janoshik, Vanguard and Chromate disagree about peptide lab results, for the full cross-lab evidence boundary.
“Third party,” affiliated and in-house do not mean the same thing
A COA can be genuine even when the word “independent” is vague. Independence can mean a separate legal entity, separate laboratory operations or no economic affiliation with the seller. Those are three different claims. The useful audit trail asks who accepted the sample, who ran the instrument, who issued the original report, who paid for the test and whether the tester shares ownership or commercial control with the seller.
| Public relationship model | What the reviewed record supports | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| Outside laboratory | Crush Research’s current page and reports identify ILS; an older Crush report identifies Freedom. We found no public officer, address or ownership overlap tying Crush to either laboratory. | That no undisclosed commercial relationship exists, or that every Crush result is published |
| Affiliated platform | Alpha BioMed says it owns and operates a family of companies, lists Paramount Peptides as its ecommerce brand and calls Nxt Gen Analysis an “independent testing partner.” Nxt Gen says it serves affiliated organizations and third-party clients. | Nxt Gen’s exact beneficial ownership or that affiliation makes a result inaccurate |
| Claimed in-house laboratory | Assurance Scientific says its vertically integrated U.S. facility performs LC-MS, HPLC and LAL work. A historical FDA document confirms an Assurance Scientific clinical-testing operation. | A current peptide-specific ISO/IEC 17025 scope, or that clinical-lab history validates the present peptide assays |
| Submission coordinator or partner-lab service | Finnrick says it anonymizes samples and sends them to commercial partner labs. USA Prime describes logging and forwarding vials to an outside U.S. lab. ARQ says an EU partner currently runs its analyses. | That the coordinator itself performed the assay, or that outsourcing is deceptive |
Crush is a useful case study in lab selection without an ownership leap. TitrateLab’s current corpus contains 31 Crush reports: 14 Freedom records dated December 2025 through September 2026, five ILS records from June 2026, eight BTLabs records, two Krause records and two Ichor records. The last 12 arrived through Finnrick and retained the partner labels that reconcile to those named laboratories. None is attributed to Janoshik, Vanguard or Chromate. That documents Crush’s visible testing routes; it does not reveal price terms, selection criteria or motive.
An owned or affiliated laboratory is not automatically wrong. The ownership question changes the incentive and independence analysis; the analytical question still depends on method validation, reference materials, proficiency evidence, chain of custody, raw data and the applicable accreditation scope. Conversely, a legally unaffiliated laboratory is not automatically competent.
The evidence does not support a broad claim that domestic resellers create fake laboratories or merely “dropship” testing. The defensible labels are outside lab, affiliated lab, in-house lab, submission coordinator or partner-lab service. A seller should disclose which applies.
Why public COAs cannot yet answer which laboratory has the lowest failure rate
A laboratory can publish hundreds of attractive certificates and still provide no measurable failure rate. The missing denominator is the number and disposition of all eligible initial submissions.
A separate September 18 TitrateLab audit shows how much sample selection can move the visible result. Among nine sellers spanning U.S. and international suppliers, each with at least three vendor-sent and three customer-sent Finnrick tests, none of 99 vendor-sent vials failed the expected identity or 98% purity threshold, while customer-sent vials from those same sellers failed 24 of 375 times, or 6.4%. At Janoshik, seller-ordered reports for U.S. sellers failed 19 of 668 times (2.8%), while reports ordered by someone else failed 164 of 1,272 times (12.9%). The same split was not visible for the reviewed international suppliers: 8.8% seller-ordered versus 8.3% ordered by someone else.
Those comparisons still do not prove that a seller hid failures. Sellers may select better vials, customers may preferentially test suspicious products, and the laboratories and product mixtures differ. The narrower conclusion is important: who chose and submitted the vial changes the observed failure rate enough that the submitter belongs beside the laboratory name. These rates concern identity and purity, not quantity, endotoxin, sterility or clinical safety.
At minimum, a comparable quarterly disclosure would report:
- unique initial samples received, separated from duplicate vials and retests;
- label-informed versus blind submissions;
- the laboratory’s predefined failure threshold for identity, amount, purity, endotoxin, metals and microbiology;
- initial failures before replacement samples or repeat injections;
- retests, reversals and inconclusive results;
- results published, withheld at client request, refunded or removed; and
- the number of represented batches, vendors and independent submitters.
Without those fields, a “98% pass rate” could describe published certificates, final results after retesting, or a selected customer population. It could also reward a laboratory whose clients avoid sending suspicious material. Conversely, a laboratory publishing more failed batches may look worse precisely because it is more transparent.
This is the central value proposition a domestic reseller could substantiate: not a promise that bad upstream batches never arrive, but evidence that incoming lots are sampled, tested against predefined release criteria, quarantined after a failure and either rejected or destroyed. A useful disclosure would publish the count of lots received, lots rejected, reasons for rejection and retest policy without exposing the upstream supplier’s private commercial information.
A practical transparency standard for a stronger testing market
The market does not need every laboratory to use one instrument or identical business model. It does need enough disclosure for buyers to understand what was measured and for competitors to reproduce important claims.
- Name the identity method. “Identity” should specify retention-time matching, LC-MS, sequencing or another defined technique, including whether the expected compound was disclosed.
- Separate purity, amount and identity. A high main-peak percentage is not the same as the correct milligrams or molecular identity.
- State the microbiology procedure. USP <61>, USP <71>, TAMC/TYMC and rapid DNA screening should never be collapsed into one undifferentiated “sterility” field.
- Publish uncertainty or a defensible reporting rule. Report measurement uncertainty where available, or explain precision caps, detection limits and the number of meaningful decimals.
- Show the applicable accreditation scope. Link the accreditor’s actual scope and identify which offered tests are inside or outside it.
- Preserve failures and corrections. A verifiable certificate system should retain superseded and failed reports with clear status rather than making inconvenient outcomes disappear.
- Disclose the denominator. Publish initial submissions, failures, retests and withheld results using stable definitions.
- Participate in blinded split-sample comparisons. Use characterized homogeneous material, duplicate or triplicate coded aliquots, pre-registered scoring and complete raw-data release.
These practices would make price competition healthier. Laboratories could still differentiate on speed, geography, customer service and specialized methods, while consumers and testing groups could distinguish inexpensive screening from stronger identity work and comprehensive quality-control packages.
What a defensible peptide-lab scorecard would need
An “epic” comparison cannot be one winner’s badge assembled from price, message-board reputation and public pass rates. Those measure different things. A useful scorecard keeps the dimensions separate and marks missing evidence as unknown rather than zero.
| Dimension | Evidence needed | Why it belongs separately |
|---|---|---|
| Identity strength | Label-informed retention-time match, targeted LC-MS, blind panel or open unknown identification | These answer progressively different questions |
| Quantity accuracy | Blinded results against characterized reference material with predefined error limits | Public vendor COAs usually lack a known true value |
| Repeatability | Randomized duplicate or triplicate aliquots measured by the same laboratory | A one-off result cannot show measurement stability |
| Interlaboratory agreement | One homogeneous sample split among labs under a pre-registered protocol | Same batch code or same vendor is not the same sample |
| Method disclosure | Instrument, column, detector, standard, preparation, calculation and uncertainty | “HPLC tested” is too broad to reproduce a result |
| Accreditation scope | Accreditor record naming the exact method, matrix, site and current dates | A laboratory-wide logo may not cover peptide HPLC |
| Microbiology scope | Exact procedure and unit: USP <61>, USP <71>, TAMC/TYMC, PCR, DNA microarray or USP <85> | “Sterility” is currently used for non-equivalent services |
| Independence and custody | Submitter, sample selector, intake route, analytical operator, issuer and economic relationship | A genuine report can still come from a selected vial or affiliated route |
| Publication behavior | All initial submissions, failures, retests, corrections, rejected lots and withheld reports | A gallery of passes has no failure-rate denominator |
| Service and cost | Retail and volume price, shipping, turnaround, consumed vials, verification and raw-data access | Value can be compared without pretending it is accuracy |
Janoshik currently has the clearest reputation advantage, Freedom the largest footprint in TitrateLab’s captured U.S.-seller stream, ILS the lowest broad advertised bundle, Vanguard the clearest packaged U.S. tiers and Chromate several of the lowest compound-specific prices. Those are five distinct leads. None is a complete analytical ranking.
Which laboratory is cheapest for each use case?
Cheapest common single-peptide HPLC test: Chromate
For BPC-157 and several other common peptides, Chromate’s $180 price is the lowest posted retail rate. That conclusion is limited to the published HPLC service. It does not establish that the method is more or less accurate than the alternatives.
Cheapest flat identity, purity and quantity panel: ILS
ILS charges $200 regardless of whether the sample is BPC-157, GHK-Cu, MOTS-c or a common GLP-1 peptide, assuming the compound is accepted. That is especially competitive for compounds Janoshik or Chromate place in higher price tiers. Buyers needing mass-spectrometry identity should ask for the custom LC-MS quote.
Fastest clearly priced U.S. base route: Freedom, with a method-wording question
Freedom advertises a one-to-three-business-day turnaround and a $225 purity/identity-plus-quantity combination. That is not the lowest sticker price, but it is a practical domestic route with a large public verification trail. Its intake form’s HPLC “and/or” mass-spectrometry language is less definite than the homepage’s HPLC-plus-LC-MS statement, so the included identity method should be confirmed for the submitted sample.
Clearest blind GLP-1 option: Janoshik
Janoshik’s $360 test explicitly identifies whether an undisclosed sample is semaglutide, tirzepatide or retatrutide while reporting amount and peptide purity. Neither the ILS nor Vanguard retail page describes the equivalent three-compound blind workflow. Chromate’s page lists each GLP-1 compound at $300 but describes the general service as HPLC rather than an expressly blind three-way test.
Clearest broad U.S. package with traditional sterility: Vanguard
Vanguard’s $850 Elite-plus-sterility combination is not the cheapest total, but it is the easiest to scope from public information: identity, purity, quantity, solubility, endotoxin, USP <61> microbial enumeration marketed as bioburden, fentanyl, seal integrity, metals and separate USP <71> sterility. It requires five vials and at least 14 days for the sterility portion.
Lowest broad advertised bundle: ILS, with a method caveat
ILS’s $600 Full QC panel is the lowest advertised combination spanning peptide analysis, endotoxin, metals and microbial screening. Its rapid DNA test is the decisive caveat. A buyer specifically requiring USP <71> should not assume the ILS bundle satisfies that requirement.
Most aggressive published volume pricing: ILS
ILS publishes the largest maximum discount in this comparison: 20% at 50 or more samples. Vanguard’s current submission form publishes 10% off at 10 or more qualifying samples. Janoshik’s reviewed pages support group orders but do not publish a volume-discount schedule. Chromate lists $50 additional-vial testing but no order-volume ladder.
Finnrick is a testing coordinator, not the analytical laboratory
Finnrick is frequently named alongside laboratories, but its own methodology says it sources or accepts samples, anonymizes them and sends them to third-party laboratories. Its current testing page names Krause Analytical, BTLabs, Chromate, Ichor Life Sciences and Harrens Lab as partner routes, while the laboratory index also preserves older results from Freedom, Janoshik, MZ and others. Availability is not uniform: Finnrick’s Chromate page currently says no Chromate products are available to order.
Finnrick currently advertises free eligible community testing and custom identity/purity/quantity orders starting at $39, with total price varying by product and laboratory. Its current testing page lists custom totals starting at $98 with endotoxin, $128 with metals and $158 with residual-solvent testing; online sterility ordering is unavailable. A single fixed $250 Standard total was not visible on the public pages checked in this audit, so the older figure has been removed. These are coordinator prices and publication choices, not one laboratory’s analytical price list. The underlying laboratory on the final report still matters.
This distinction also explains why a “Finnrick result” cannot be used as a single laboratory category in a cross-lab accuracy comparison. The platform has used multiple analytical providers with different methods and reporting conventions.
Finnrick’s pass rates measure submitted products, not laboratory accuracy
Finnrick publishes a recent “Purity Focus” pass rate on several laboratory pages. The visible rates provide useful evidence about the products routed through each lab, but they are easy to misread as a laboratory proficiency score:
| Finnrick laboratory page | Published tests | Latest published test | Pass rate on most recent 200 tests |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krause Analytical | 6,372 | Sep. 14, 2026 | 64% |
| BTLabs | 2,411 | Sep. 16, 2026 | 74% |
| Chromate | 674 | Jul. 14, 2026 | 40% |
Under Finnrick’s published Purity Focus rule, a classifiable sample needs the expected identity, at least 99.5% purity and quantity within ±35% of the claim; incomplete records are excluded. The laboratory pages also state that not every test Finnrick commissioned was published because provenance and publication requirements can keep results outside the public record. These percentages are therefore not failure rates for Krause, BTLabs or Chromate. Each laboratory tested a different mixture of products, vendors and dates, and the test result is being used to grade the submitted product. A lower number can reflect weaker incoming samples, a different client mix or measurement differences. Ranking laboratories would require the same blinded homogeneous material, not three unmatched submission streams.
Other laboratories worth tracking
- Peptide Test: currently lists BPC-157 at $200, tirzepatide at $300, retatrutide at $400, endotoxin at $300, sterility at $300 and metals at $250. It is a useful additional public-price comparator, but was not added to the normalized basket because its public footprint is much smaller than Freedom’s in TitrateLab’s seller corpus.
- BTLabs: appears extensively in Finnrick’s partner corpus and the K-Hole discussion, but we did not locate a complete current public retail price list. A quote-based business should not be assigned an estimated price.
- Krause Analytical: dominates Finnrick’s recent partner-lab volume and is central to TitrateLab’s interlaboratory discrepancy analysis, but it does not publish a complete directly comparable retail menu. Its public record should be evaluated separately from the coordinator’s consumer price.
- Pacific Coast Biologics: its founder was the most prolific identifiable laboratory voice in the archived K-Hole topic and publicly discussed a broader protein-testing philosophy. The chat contained price statements, but those informal offers are not a durable public price list and are excluded from the retail matrix.
Eight questions to ask before mailing a vial
- Is the submission blind, label-informed, or a match against one named reference?
- Does “identity” mean retention-time matching, mass spectrometry, both, or something else?
- Is quantity calibrated against a characterized reference standard, and how is uncertainty reported?
- Does “sterility” mean USP <71>, USP <61>, TAMC/TYMC, a DNA screen or another protocol?
- What endotoxin method and reporting unit will appear: EU/vial, EU/mg or EU/mL?
- How many unopened vials are required, and can any vial be shared across tests?
- Which exact tests and matrices are inside the laboratory’s accredited scope?
- Can the finished certificate be verified on the laboratory’s own domain, and are raw data available?
Use the laboratory’s exact domain from a known report or accreditation registry. A sponsored search result, HTTPS lock icon or familiar logo does not authenticate the business behind a website. The FBI has documented search-ad impersonation scams, and Chromium explains that HTTPS protects the connection rather than proving a site’s trustworthiness.
What this comparison can and cannot establish
This comparison documents the prices, package descriptions, sample requirements, public accreditation scopes and report-verification features rechecked on September 26, 2026. It also synthesizes direct statements made by identifiable laboratory accounts in a preserved industry discussion.
It does not establish which laboratory is analytically closest to the true value. Price lists are supplier claims. Accreditation is a competence framework for the activities within scope, not proof that any particular result is correct. A large public report corpus can show operating history, but it can also reflect ingestion bias, client mix and selective publication.
The experiment needed to rank analytical agreement remains straightforward and expensive: prepare one characterized homogeneous material, divide it into identical coded aliquots, submit them blindly to every laboratory, pre-register the comparison rules, obtain raw data and publish every result. Until that exists, “best peptide testing laboratory” is a stronger claim than the evidence supports.
Method and correction policy
TitrateLab rechecked the laboratories’ official price, service, terms and about pages on September 26, 2026. We inspected the current PJLA-issued certificate copy and eight-page scope published for ILS, PJLA’s flexible-scope explanation, and the official A2LA registry certificate and scope for Vanguard. We calculated normalized totals from listed retail prices; shipping, tax, lost-vial value, bespoke quotes and unpublished discounts are excluded. USP chapter descriptions were checked against USP’s own pages rather than inferred from laboratory marketing labels.
For community context, we reviewed the previously preserved K Hole Reloaded laboratory topic: 6,270 messages from August 25, 2025 through August 11, 2026, plus a 257-message relevant-context capture through September 6. Ordinary participants remain unnamed. Statements from laboratory-branded or publicly attributable accounts are treated as self-reported positions, not verified analytical findings.
TitrateLab did not purchase testing, audit a laboratory, reproduce a method or conduct the necessary blind split-sample study for this article. The unresolved questions in this comparison remain labelled as questions; no presumed answer is used as a finding. Laboratories are invited to provide current documentation or corrections through TitrateLab’s methodology and corrections page. Prices and services can change.